23
Mar
15

The AutoBiography of Malcom X as told to Alex Haley

I don’t have time at the moment to fully elaborate on this astounding novel, but I’d like to share a small excerpt for the time being:

I want to say before I go on that I have never previously told anyone my sordid in past detail. I haven’t done it now to sound as though I might be proud of how bad, how evil I was. But people are always speculating– why am I as I am? To understand that of any person, his whole l;life, from birth, must be reviewed. All of our experiences fuse into our personality. Everything that ever happened to us is an ingredient. Today when everything that I do has an urgency, I would not spend one hour in the preparation of a book which has the ambition to perhaps titillate some readers. But I am spending many hours because the full story is the way that I know to have it seen and understood, that I had sunk to the very bottom of the American white mans society when — soon now, in prison– I found Allah and the religion of Islam and it completely transformed my life.”

“All of our experiences fuse into our personality. Everything that has ever happened to us is an ingredient.” The simplicity of that statement is so ridiculously beautiful to me. This excerpt wasn’t even the jist of the book, it was just a small factor in why he decided to let Alex Haley write his autobiography. I chose to highlight this though because the truth it holds is relatable world-wide. We all have a story, and what makes our story is our different life experiences and to fully understand someones life you have to know their every experience. You have to understand that life is a ripple effect, and the results of one experience shape your next experience and so forth; you have to see the beauty in the butterfly effect.

0 Responses to “The AutoBiography of Malcom X as told to Alex Haley”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

