19
Mar
15

again/label

I don’t particularly care for labels, though I understand the relevance of them in a world where things are better understood when they are categorized. Despite that, I don’t think I have to label myself personally to be better understood. I’ve often found it to be challenging when describing my sexuality to not like minded people. Its difficult for people to view things outside of their social norm. It was hard enough for homosexuality to become accepted, if you would even consider it accepted, but everything else in between, why that’s just to much to bare… but really, its not! The only time who I am attracted to should affect someone else is if A. I’m attracted to you (and even that’s debatable) or B. you are attracted to me. Otherwise, there’s nothing for anyone to understand, except that I’m with the person that makes me happy, isn’t that the end goal no matter who you’re attracted too?

In choosing to label myself for the benefit of this post, I find that I am most relatable to Pansexuals.

Pansexual: Pansexual people may be sexually attracted to individuals who identify as male or female; however, they may also be attracted to those who identify as intersex, third-gender, androgynous, transsexual, or the many other sexual and gender identities*

Now to counteract your first idea, Pansexuality IS different from Bisexuals, though the basis is pretty standard.

Bisexuals: Bisexual people are attracted sexually and romantically to both males and females, and are capable of engaging in sensual relationships with either sex. Despite being able to form meaningful, lasting relationships with both sexes, bisexual individuals may, to a small or large degree, have a preference for one sex over the other*

The biggest difference between the two, people who self-identify as pansexual do so with purpose, to express that they are able to be attracted to various gender and sexual identities, whether they fall within the gender binary or not. Recognition of the existence of different genders and sexualities is a major aspect of pansexual identity. Pansexual people are bisexual, in-fact; however, bisexuality does not place the same emphasis on sexual and gender identity awareness, but more simply indicates attraction to the two (generally accepted) biological sexes*

In a nutshell: Bisexual identity more so establishes attraction to both genders, whereas pansexual identity more so recognizes the existence of other genders (third genders) and the capacity to be sexually attracted to individuals identifying as these various genders*

All in all I like people, it doesn’t matter what you look like, what gender you identify as or what sexual parts you do or don’t have. No one is off limits, because those physical features don’t determine whether I can fall in I’ve with a person or not, what determines that are the qualities possessed on the inside.
Now with being said, I am human and there are certain qualities whether physical or not that are more stimulating than others, but again those qualities can be found in any type of person (;
0 Responses to “again/label”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

