11
Dec
14

Again/Old friend

Correct me if I’m wrong, but speaking as a girl I’d like to say we have one or two friends that were very influential in our lives? Almost like a mentor or an icon, someone you wanted to be like growing up in our adolescent.  It could be this way for guys too, but I can’t speak on their behalf. Anyway, the oldest friend I have to date; considering growing up I was never in one place for too long, is Breniesha (bre-knee-sha).
I met Breniesha in the 8th grade, I was 13 years old, that’s about 10 years ago. 

image

Breniesha had this confidence and natural, dare I say swag about her that I was instantly drawn too. Unfortunately I was still in the process to fully embracing who I was and and all i had to offer, like most insecure and overly aware 13 years olds. Breniesha represented everything I wanted to be. All the guys wanted her and the girls wanted to be her. I don’t know how or why but she took me under her wing, we became inseparable, she was my best friend and and I was hers. I learned how to believe in myself and acknowledge my self-worth. I learned not to care what others thought about me; I also learned how to use my looks to get what I wanted; that’s not as bad as it sounds I promise

image

After 8th grade we ended up going to separate schools. We still stayed in touch, that’s her and I at my sweet 16 in the picture above, probably the last time we were the closest. After that life and other obstacles got in the way of our friendship and we didn’t reconnect until years later. Like true friendships, once we were back in each others presence it was like nothing had ever changed. Given we had both grown and become separate individuals, she will always be someone I look up to and admire and I will forever credit her for helping me be the confident woman I stand as today.

image

         Best Friends For Life est 2004

0 Responses to “Again/Old friend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

